Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

DJ Supply

Title - 'Myriad'
Artist - The Lovetones

For those not in the know, Australian psychedelic rock band The Lovetones released their debut album, Be What You Want, in 2002 through Bomp! Records

With comparisons made at the time hailing Matthew J. Tow's songwriting as being worthy of comparisons to Ray Davies, Bowie, Lennon and McCartney, after a successful tour of Australia, Tow joined The Brian Jonestown Massacre in 2003.

In 2004, The Lovetones released the Stars EP, which coincided with their support of The Brian Jonestown Massacre on their tour of Australia.

The second album, Meditations, was released through New York's Tee Pee Records in late 2005 and in June 2006, The Lovetones completed a European tour across 12 countries with The Brian Jonestown Massacre in support of Meditations (which was released in Europe through Tee Pee/Cargo Records).

The Lovetones recorded their third album, Axiom, during 2006, with sessions split between Figment Studios in Hollywood and the Sydney Opera House Recording Studio. It was released in June 2007, once again, through Tee Pee Records.

Their fourth album, Dimensions, was released November 4th, 2008 in Australia through Undercover Records and April 6th, 2009 in North America through Planting Seeds Records.

Matthew J. Tow and The Lovetones now return with their newest masterpiece of indie-psych, Myriad (out now via Cleopatra Records).

The band's sixth studio album, and their first since 2009, Tow is now back with his beloved band and brings with him a stunning brilliant cavalcade of ten solid tracks for the ride!

1. 'The Circle Turns'
2. 'About the Girl'
3. 'The Milkman of Human Kindness'
4. 'Caylus 74'
5. 'Everything You've Ever Had'
6. 'Rescue'
7. 'Modern Life Is Killing Me'
8. 'Caylus (Reprise)'
9. 'Walk Away'
10. 'I'll Never Be That Guy'

With all ten tracks coming complete with their renowned use of a masterful symphonic string vibe embracing the most acute of melodic sound waves, up first is the slow burning 'The Circle Turns' which is backed by the first single, and lusciously gorgeous 'About the Girl.'

Next up is the beautifully Lennon & McCartneyesque pairing of 'The Milkman of Human Kindness' and 'Caylus 74,' with the tenderly anthemic 'Everything You've Ever Had' backing them nicely.

Their brand of upbeat, jangly guitars amidst layered harmonies is brought nicely to the fore on 'Rescue' which is backed seamlessly by the somewhat darkly opinionated 'Modern Life Is Killing Me,' with a quick 'Caylus (Reprise)' blending in at its end.

The album then comes to a close on the magnificent, '60s-embodied, rose-tinted psych glasses of both 'Walk Away' and one of my own personal favorites on this new album, the slow-trip of 'I'll Never Be That Guy.'

'About The Girl' (Official Music Video)

Official CD Purchase Link

The Lovetones @ Facebook!