Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Black Moon'
Artist - Lucifer's Friend

For those not in the know, Lucifer's Friend is a German hard rock band, formed in Hamburg in 1970 by guitarist Peter Hesslein, singer John Lawton, bassist Dieter Horns, keyboardist Peter Hecht, and drummer Joachim Reitenbach.

The group was an early practitioner of heavy metal and progressive rock and they also incorporated elements of jazz and fusion into their music, especially in their fourth album Banquet of 1974.

Beyond heavy metal the band has also been cited as one of the pioneers of doom metal, helping to define both genres due to their heavy sound and dark oriented lyrics of their acclaimed debut Lucifer's Friend (1970) and returning to their roots in 1981 with Mean Machine; although here more notably influenced by speed metal.

The band officially broke up in 1982, but Lucifer’s Friend reformed in 2015 and since then has been playing high profile festival concerts - such as the HEADLINE act on 4 Sound Stage the SWEDEN ROCK FESTIVAL and at the ROCK OF AGES and LORELEY festivals too.

Lucifer’s Friend have now released a new studio album, Black Moon which is their first album since 2016’s Too Late To Hate.

It is also the band’s second album since the aforementioned reuniting in 2015 with singer John Lawton, guitarist Peter Hesslein and bassist Dieter Horns all in the line up.

1. 'Black Moon'
2. 'Passengers'
3. 'Rolling the Stone'
4. 'Behind the Smile'
5. 'Palace of Fools'
6. 'Call the Captain'
7. 'Little Man'
8. 'Freedom'
9. 'Taking It to the Edge'
10. 'Glory Days'

Featuring the original core members of John Lawton (ex-Uriah Heep), Peter Hesslein and Dieter Horns, the album opens with the title track itself, 'Black Moon.'

A wondrous jazz-fusion cut, and also one of my favorites off the new 10 track album, it's Lawton’s still-incredible and strong vocals that grab you first, Hesslein’s guitar work next, and then the storytelling lyrics following along thereafter.

In what I can only describe as a beautiful flashback to an era and sound gone by, Black Moon to me (as an album) comes across much in the same musical vein as their 1974 album Banquet. And that thought is showcased to perfection within both 'Passengers' and the R&B vibe to 'Rolling The Stone.'

The keyboard-led 'Behind The Smile' is another harkening beauty and is backed seamlessly by both the rock prowess of 'Palace of Fools' and the pacey seafaring tale within 'Call the Captain.'

'Little Man' is then followed by the tribal beats found within the uplifting 'Freedom' with the album then rounding out with both the rock-fusion wonderment of 'Taking It To The Edge' and a sly nod to their own moments in the spotlight, perhaps, on the reflective 'Glory Days.'

Official CD Purchase Link