Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'The Music City Sessions'
Artist - Jeannie C. Riley

For those not in the know, which included me before this album arrived, an album of previously unreleased Jeannie C. Riley songs recorded by Elvis Presley’s guitar player Scotty Moore has now been released; complete with a Sam Phillips connection.

Sam Phillips was the owner and founder of Sun Records, Elvis Presley’s first record label.

This new Jeannie C. Riley album comes via Country Rewind, founded by Sam Phillips and his brother Tom in 1960 and know operated by Tom’s son and Sam’s nephews Sam W. and John Philips.

The other partner in the project is Thomas Gramuglia who rescued the songs after 50 years in storage.

Indeed, the tracks were initially never intended for commercial release but have been restored and upgraded to the sounds available from today’s technology.

Ergo, Jeannie's talent is at it's peak in these unreleased The Music City Sessions!

Included here is a new version of 'Harper Valley P.T.A' (which she actually rerecorded for these sessions), along with never before released tracks with exceptional performances throughout.

Producers J.R. McNeely and Larry Marrs have brought these lost tracks up to twenty first century audio standards by adding additional instruments and background vocals.

Old and new fans alike will love this album and once again Jeannie will be making country music history.

1. 'Country Girl'
2. 'That's A No-No'
3. 'Harper Valley P.T.A.'
4. 'Crying Time'
5. 'There Never Was A Time'
6. 'Son of A Preacher Man'
7. 'Things Go Better With Love'
8. 'Me and Bobby McGee'
9. 'Back Side of Dallas'
10. 'Games People Play'
11. 'Wish You Were Here'
12. 'Girl Most Likely'
13. 'Okie from Muskogee'
14. 'Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms'

The album begins with 'Country Girl,' a tale of how far away New York is from Texas, and the trials and tribulations between them, with the twangin' beauty 'That's a No-No,' the finger-snappin' fun of 'Harper Valley P.T.A.' and then the quietly stunning lo-fi country of 'Cryin' Time' following.

The countrified bounce of 'There Never Was a Time' is a wonderful gem to behold and that's backed by her Dusty Springfield rendition of 'Son of A Preacher Man.'

The sweet love story of 'Things Go Better with Love' is then backed by the Kris Kristofferson-written, Janis Joplin-made famous 'Me and Bobby McGee,' with the upbeat hipsway of 'Back Side of Dallas' along next.

The Joe South track 'Games People Play' is lovingly embraced by Jeannie and then she follows that up with the vibrant duo of both 'Wish You Were Here' and 'The Girl Most Likely' up next.

The album then rounds out with the storytelling of small town folk within 'Okie from Muskogee' and then the fast-paced, yet cultured mid-tempo country vibe of 'Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms.'

Amazon CD Purchase Link