Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Electric Regions'
Artist - Udo Pannekeet

For those not in the know, Udo Pannekeet (current bass player of FOCUS) graduated from the Conservatory of Amsterdam where during his education he was part of the trio Isotope.

In 2002 he started his own quintet Pitch Pine Project, featuring Martijn van Iterson, Tom Beek, Chris Strik en Rob van Bavel. The group got a lot of critical acclaim in the Netherlands as well as outside of it.

Pitch Pine Project played at the North Sea Jazz Fetival twice, and in 2008 even performed with famous trumpet player Randy Brecker as a guest soloist.

Afterwards Udo became a member of the Tim Langedijk Trio, featuring Hans van Oosterhout on drums. He has been with them for over eight years now and they’ve released four CD’s, pianist Jasper van t’ Hof collaborating on the CD November.

As sideman Udo has played with many formations. He co-produced projects like Tom Beek’s Bigtime and Bliss as well as Ingeborg Helder’s Light Works.

Udo teaches at the conservatories in Tilburg, Haarlem and Enschede.

The latest solo album, Electric Regions (out November 15th, 2019 via In and Out of Focus Records) features an epic-length track, along with new compositions written throughout Udo's career and recorded here for the first time.

The album also features a guest appearance on guitar from Focus bandmate Menno Gootjes. The tenth release on the band's own label it is also, in my humble opinion, one of his finest to date.

1. 'Electric Regions Part One' (23;15)
2. 'Integration Yes' (5:50)
3. 'Little Nura' (3:02)
4. 'The Antibes Situation' (4:50)
5. 'Cocon Cocon' (6:17)

To my ear, the quite stunning Electric Regions is a distant cousin to the early recordings of Finland’s Pekka Pohjola, circa Harakka Bialoipokku.

Conjuring up the absolute sublimity of those jazzy workout albums, and at times even their Island albums - sans the Eastern vibe, of course - there is a lot to love here on this transient new recording.

It opens with the opus 'Electric Regions Part One' which is a rather beautiful and free flowing musical journey that simply breaks and crashes over and through you on a continual basis.

Udo’s bass literally throbs throughout the piece, while trumpets, saxes, keyboards, guitar, and flute spiral and float in an amazing array of melodies.

Up next is 'Integration Yes' which brings forth Udo's carefree, yet sculptured jazz, allowing a piano to "sing" its praises. Then comes the slower, bass-pulsed and contemplative track 'Little Nura,' which is backed by the urgent jazz-rock mellowed at all turns by some sumptuous sax, 'The Antibes Situation.'

This quite magnificent album then rounds out with 'Cocon Cocon,' a track that ponders a wee bit from the off, but soon erupts into happy fusion, which abruptly ends, only to flow into a silent sunset.

Amazon CD Purchase Link

Udo Pannekeet @ Facebook