Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - The Definitive Singles: 1980-1987 [3CD]
Artist - Sheena Easton

For those unaware, The Definitive Singles: 1980-1987 is a forthcoming Sheena Easton 3CD set that includes (for the first time) every UK and US single A-side from her EMI era.

Having rocketed to fame in the UK in the early ‘80s, Sheena quickly established herself as an international star, where her genre-crossing approach resulted in her being the only artist in US history to score top three hits in each of Billboard’s main charts: Hot 100, R&B, Dance, AC and Country.

Releasing September 24th, 2021 via Cherry Pop (UK), the triple-disc package includes her 1980s pop hits such as Morning Train (9 To 5), For Your Eyes Only, Telefone (Long Distance Love Affair), We’ve Got Tonight, Strut, Sugar Walls and oh-so many more!

Even better, as well as seven-inch edits, The Definitive Singles offers original extended versions, rare dub mixes many of which are new to CD and eight of which are completely unreleased including the ‘lost’ 1986 singles Anything Can Happen and Sweet Talker in their 7-inch and 12-inch versions.

Disc One: The 7-inch Singles
1. Modern Girl (Edited Version)
2. Morning Train (9 To 5)
3. One Man Woman
4. Take My Time
5. When He Shines
6. For Your Eyes Only
7. Just Another Broken Heart
8. You Could Have Been With Me (Edited Version)
9. Machinery
10. Are You Man Enough
11. I Wouldn’t Beg For Water
12. We’ve Got Tonight (Duet with Kenny Rogers)
13. Telefone (Long Distance Love Affair)
14. Almost Over You
15. Devil In A Fast Car (Single Version)
16. Back In The City
17. Strut
18. Sugar Walls
19. Swear
20. Do It For Love (Single Version)
21. Jimmy Mack (Edited Version)
22. Magic Of Love (Edited Version)

This quite wondrous flashback collection opens on the foot-tapping synth melodies of Modern Girl and backs that up seamlessly with the stretchin’ and a’yawnin’ of Morning Train (9 To 5), which are followed by the countrified pop twang of One Man Woman, the synth-laden Take My Time, and then we get the quieter balladry fare of When He Shines and the James Bond theme tune, For Your Eyes Only.

Next up is the brilliantly poppy beats of Just Another Broken Heart and another ballad in the form of You Could Have Been With Me, and then comes the gently frenetic Machinery, the mid-tempo R&B pop flow of Are You Man Enough, another ballad within I Wouldn’t Beg For Water, the country classic, and Sheena’s heartfelt duet with Kenny Rogers on We’ve Got Tonight, and then we get the fun pop (and black and white video that supported it!) of Telefone (Long Distance Love Affair).

This first disc then rounds out with the beautiful ballad Almost Over You and the sterner mid-tempo balladry of Devil In A Fast Car, then we get the upbeat and fun Back In The City, before we shift into the latter stages of her career in the charts with the harder edged Strut and the lovelorn naughtiness of Sugar Walls, and then comes the pop bounce of the brilliant, and criminally under-rated Swear, closing on the R&B sway of Do It For Love, the finger-snapping Jimmy Mack, and then the swarthy Magic Of Love.

Disc Two: The 7-inch Singles + The 12-inch Singles
1. So Far So Good
2. Anything Can Happen (Single Version) *
3. It’s Christmas All Over The World
4. Sweet Talk (Shep Pettibone Short Version) *
5. No Sound But A Heart (7” Version) *
6. Eternity (Single Version)
7. Ice Out In The Rain (7- inch Remix)
8. Telefone (Long Distance Love Affair) (Club Mix)
9. Strut (Dance Mix)
10. Sugar Walls (Dance Mix)
11. Swear (Dance Mix) †
12. Do It For Love (Extended Dance Mix)
13. Jimmy Mack (Extended Version)
14. So Far So Good (The Red Mix) †

*Previously unreleased track
† Never before available on CD

The second disc keeps the 7-inch singles going by opening on the delicious bubblegum pop of So Far So Good and the funky beats of Anything Can Happen, before bringing us the luscious, and oh-so heartwarming It’s Christmas All Over The World, the heavier R&B funk of Sweet Talk (listed here as Sweet Talker) and then comes the orchestrated magnificence of No Sound But A Heart, the expressive Eternity and then the low ebb pop roll of Ice Out In The Rain.

The 12-inch singles kick off next with the excellent Telefone (Long Distance Love Affair) (Club Mix) and the tantalizingly enticing extra beats of both Strut (Dance Mix) and Sugar Walls (Dance Mix), with my own personal favorite Swear (Dance Mix) along next, the disc rounding out on the free flowing majesty of Do It For Love (Extended Dance Mix), the upbeat and fun Jimmy Mack (Extended Version), closing on the rather brilliant So Far So Good (The Red Mix).

Disc Three: The 12-inch Singles + The Dub Mixes
1. So Far So Good (Extended Dance Mix) †
2. Anything Can Happen (12” Extended Version) *
3. Sweet Talk (Shep Pettibone Long Version) *
4. No Sound But A Heart (12” Version) *
5. Eternity (Shep Pettibone Mix) †
6. Ice Out In The Rain (12” Remix) *
7. Telefone (Long Distance Love Affair) (Dub Mix)
8. Strut (Dub Mix) †
9. Sugar Walls (Red Mix)
10. Swear (Dub Mix)
11. Do It For Love (Instrumental Mix)
12. Jimmy Mack (Instrumental Mix) †
13. So Far So Good (Dub Mix) †
14. Eternity (Dub) †
15. Ice Out In The Rain (Instrumental Remix) *

*Previously unreleased track
† Never before available on CD

The third and final disc is simply chock full of really excellent 12-inch singles and dub mixes, none more so (in my humble opinion) than the out the park Anything Can Happen (12” Extended Version), the electrically-extended Telefone (Long Distance Love Affair) (Dub Mix), a rather naughty combo of both Strut (Dub Mix) and Sugar Walls (Red Mix), with my own favorite Swear (Dub Mix) also included in the mix.

This collection comes with a 24-page color booklet includes rare photos, discography and a new intro from Sheena herself.

Official 3CD Purchase Link