Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs


Title - 'Radio Silence'
Artist - Exovex

Exovex is the progressive rock creation of singer, songwriter and musician Dale Simmons and features Josh Freese and Keith Carlock on drums. This highly-anticipated brand new album also features two members of Porcupine Tree: Gavin Harrison on drums and Richard Barbieri on synths.

This quite amazing debut album, Radio Silence, led by the aforementioned American multi-instrumentalist Simmons, explained late last year that the project had come about after he had invited Harrison and Freese to contribute to a solo album. He says: "I asked them to do whatever they thought would best serve the track. I gave them complete creative control."

Well, it's plainly obvious that the given trust in musical faith worked wonders for this debut, because the near 10 minute 'Stolen Wings' that begins the journey for us; where the slow, methodical, spiritual opening soon gives way to the gentle rock guitar and drums, and Simmons' vocals thereafter, is one hell of a way to settle in for the ride. 'Metamorph' is next, and allows Simmons to immediately showcase his guitar skills, before the longest track on the album, 'Seeker's Prayer' comes to the fore. With it's radioesque "tuning" effects, couple with Eastern promise, it is truly the highlight of the album, for me.

'The Last Orbit,' which opens with some rather delightful, yet highly poignant piano playing, carries with it the edge of some slight of hand guitar playing, creating gently distorted, floating radio "airwaves," before both 'Dead Reckoning' and the guitar-crushing 'Daylight (Silent Key)' bring the six-track work of musical art to a close.

The record, which has a running time of about 45 minutes, and was mixed by multi-platinum award winning mixing engineer Steve Hardy, was mastered by Andy VanDette at Engine Room Audio, in New York.

FYI - The album cover features stunning works of art by Babak Tafreshi, an award winning photographer working with National Geographic, Sky&Telescope Magazine, and the European Southern Observatory.

Dale Simmons @ Facebook!

'Radio Silence' CD Purchase Link