Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

DJ Supply

Title - 'Disturbing The Peace: 2 Disc Deluxe Edition'
Artist - Alcatrazz

As all fans of heavy rock will know, Graham Bonnet is a British rock singer/songwriter. Having performed both solo and as a member of several metal acts such as Rainbow, MSG and the highly under-rated Alcatrazz it was in 1981 (after his break from Rainbow, which, although he only stayed for a short time with them, still managed to produce some of their finest, all be they pop-fused tracks: 'Since You've Been Gone' and 'I Surrender,' to name just two), that he chose to resume his solo career.

Backtracking to the aforementioned Alcatrazz though, it was his turn in this so-called (at the time) American heavy metal band back in 1983 that began to cement both his name and his distinctive vocals in musical folklore. Alongside Bonnet at the time were Jimmy Waldo and Gary Shea, and although they will always be best known for their songs 'Island In The Sun' and 'God Blessed Video', Alcatrazz managed to release some still-today noted as incredible rock material.

Indeed, the band's initial line-up consisted of the former Rainbow front man Graham Bonnet, Shea, Waldo, a young Swedish guitarist named Yngwie Malmsteen (who had recently left American band Steeler), and Clive Burr of Iron Maiden fame. Burr was reportedly only in the band for a week, and left upon discovering the band was going to be based in the United States, as opposed to his native England.

Burr was soon replaced by former Iron Butterfly drummer Jan Uvena, who had just left Alice Cooper's backing band. Also, it was actually Shea who dubbed the group "Alcatrazz". For the first album, the bulk of the material was written by Bonnet and Malmsteen, with Waldo contributing to several tracks. That debut album was 1983's cock-sure No Parole From Rock 'N' Roll (Rocshire Records), and although the band members came and went, the music still got released. Next up was 1985's powerhaus Disturbing the Peace, which in turn was followed a year later by Dangerous Games.

Now re-released in a fantastic Expanded Edition format via Cherry Red Records, Dangerous Games: Expanded Edition is quickly followed by the explosive new CD/DVD live set, Disturbing The Peace: 2 Disc Deluxe Edition. Not shy about releasing live albums (although on one during their actual short career), first had come Live Sentence (1983), then in 2010 came a trio of first-time-on-CD live releases, Live '83, No Parole from Rock 'n' Roll Tour Live in Japan (1984.1.28), and finally the album we have re-released here today, Disturbing the Peace Tour Live in Japan (1984.10.10).

On the back of their second album, of course named Disturbing The Peace, Alcatrazz returned to their favorite live stomping ground of Japan for a second tour in October 1984. Playing in front of a very loyal fan-base, the line-up of Bonnet, Steve Vai, Jimmy Waldo, Ian Uvena and Gary Shea took the new album apart live on stage. Actually releasing Disturbing The Peace in 1985, led by the single and MTV favorite ‘God Blessed Video’ the album remained for 7 weeks on the Billboard 200 albums chart, peaking at No. 14.

1. 'God Blessed Video'
2. 'Mercy'
3. 'Will You Be Home Tonight'
4. 'Wire And Blood'
5. 'Desert Diamond'
6. 'Stripper'
7. 'Painted Lover'
8. 'Lighter Shade Of Green'
9. 'Sons And Lovers'
10. 'Skyfire'
11. 'Breaking The Heart Of The City'

12. 'Will You Be Home Tonight (Single Edit)'

13. 'God Blessed Video'
14. 'Wire And Blood'
15. 'Stripper'
16. 'Painted Lover'
17. 'Sons And Lovers'
18. 'Skyfire'
19. 'Breaking The Heart Of The City'
20. 'Steve Vai Rehearsal'

1. 'Breaking The Heart Of The City'
2. 'Jet To Jet'
3. 'Skyfire'
4. 'Sons And Lovers'
5. 'Hiroshima Mon Amour'
6. 'God Blessed Video'
7. 'Will You Be Home Tonight'
8. 'Kree Nakoorie'
9. 'Since You Been Gone'
10. 'Painted Lover'
11. 'Suffer Me'
12. 'Stripper'
13. 'Too Young To Die, Too Drunk To Live'
14. 'Kojo No Tsuki'
15. 'Night Games'
16. 'All Night Long'

This new 2 Disc Set, out now via Cherry Red Records, is a Deluxe Edition CD+DVD of both the aforementioned Disturbing The Peace tied-at-the-hip releases and features the Anti-Drunk Driving PSA Single Edit of ‘Will You Be Home Tonight’, plus instrumental demos of ‘God Blessed Video’, ‘Wire And Wood’, ‘Stripper’, ‘Painted Lover’, ‘Sons And Lovers’, ‘Skyfire’, ‘Breaking The Heart Of The City’, and even a wicked Steve Vai Rehearsal segment.

Their show at the Shinjuku Kousei Nenkin Kaikan in Tokyo is just simply amazing to hear, even after all these years. As well as showcasing tracks from the then unreleased Disturbing the Peace, this Japanese concert features ‘Hiroshima Mon Amour’ and ‘Kree Nakoorie’ from the first Alcatrazz album, the by now usual Rainbow hits ‘All Night Long’ and ‘Since You Been Gone’, plus Graham Bonnet’s solo hit ‘Night Games’.

In truth, the unreal guitar work of Steve Vai (who replaced the incredible Yngwie Malmsteen no less) is what lights this album, and the live show up. He might well have only been in the band for this one album and tour but Vai left a lasting impression - both on record and to those that caught the band live that year. Combined with searing vocals of Graham Bonnett, this record is a lost classic. Of that have NO doubt and now inclusive of its partnered live performance on DVD, well, could life get any better for us Alcatrazz fans today?!

Well, maybe! Being a MASSIVE Rainbow fan, and primarily when Bonnet was their leader, I personally adore most everything they ever put out. So to now learn that Christmas has come early with the news that The Graham Bonnet Band and a reformed Alcatrazz will be touring together in 2017 has left me speechless! Speechless, I tell you. Well, ... nearly!

'Disturbing The Peace: 2 Disc Deluxe Edition' CD Purchase Link