Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

DJ Supply

Title - 'The Complete Pompeii Recordings 1968-1969'
Artist - Ike & Tina Turner

For those not in the know ... ahhhh, screw it! Come on now, we ALL know who Ike & Tina Turner are (or were, as a recording duo), and, in truth, fans of their music down the years have all but purchased each and every one of their subsequently, and numerously re-released Ike & Tina Turner "Best Of"s and "Rarities" and such. For the most part, they have all been end of contract, or cheap ploys to still wring money out of the pair's still-standing-strong fan base, but this brand new, 3CD release from Goldenlane Records / Cleopatra Records is easily the BEST yet that I have come across with their regard.

So, here on Ike & Tina Turner: The Complete Pompeii Recordings 1968-1969 we finally get all of these sought after raw recordings for the Pompeii Label in the late 1960’s that the dynamic duo wrote and recorded. Now all digitally remastered, this super deluxe 3CD set features three complete albums (in mini sleeves that duplicate their original LP jackets), along with informative liner notes, photos, and much more!

DISC 1: 'So Fine'
1. "Bet’cha Can’t Kiss Me (Just One Time)"
2. "Ain’t Nobody’s Business"
3. "It Sho Ain’t Me"
4. "Too Hot To Hold"
5. "A Fool In Love"
6. "I Better Get Ta Steppin’"
7. "Shake a Tail Feather"
8. "So Fine"
9. "We Need An Understanding"
10. "You’re So Fine"

DISC 2: 'Cussin’, Cryin’ And Carryin’ On'
1. "Cussin’, Cryin’ And Carryin’ On"
2. "Poor Little Fool"
3. "So Blue Over You"
4. "Nothing You Can Do Boy (To Change My Way)"
5. "I’m Fed Up"
6. "You Got What You Wanted"
7. "Make ‘Em Wait"
8. "Beauty Is Just Skin Deep"
9. "Thinking Black"
10. "Black Beauty"
11. "I Better Get Ta Steppin’"

DISC 3: 'A Black Man's Soul'
1. "Thinking Black"
2. "Black Beauty"
3. "Ghetto Funk"
4. "Blacks’ Alley"
5. "Getting Nasty"
6. "Black Angel"
7. "Funky Mule"
8. "Philly Dog"
9. "Scotty Souling"
10. "Up Hard"
11. "Nuttin’ Up"
12. "Freedom Sound"

Listening to the 3CDs, back-to-back, and starting with the very first track, "Bet’cha Can’t Kiss Me (Just One Time)" from 'So Fine' is like a major head trip flashback of pure and utter joyful wonderment! I say that because as you listen to Tina's strong, guttural and yet feminine vocals, the the chorus of the song is sung by ... chipmunks! OK, well, I know their not actual chipmunks, but listen for yourself and tell me Alvin and his brothers aren't there in the studio with her!

Other favorite cuts for me are the uptown funk of "I Better Get ta Steppin'", her trademark, contained scream of a lyric on "We Need an Understanding", from 'Cussin' both the Motown-inspired duo "So Blue over You" and "Make 'Em Wait", and from A Black Man's Soul' the slowburn blues funk of "Black Angel" and the band's musical flourishes heard within "Up Hard".

During a fascinating career that was as triumphant and groundbreaking as it was erratic and turbulent, Ike & Tina Turner became one of the most prolific recording duos of their time. Between 1960 and 1970 the pair cut wax for at least 10 different record labels resulting in nearly 70 singles and some 20 albums. Bear in mind, this was accomplished while the duo toured regularly both here and abroad (reportedly averaging some 300 shows a year), made innumerable television appearances, were fighting like cats and dogs, and yet even managed to raise a family.