Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Exclusive Magazine Banner

Title - 'The Complete Chicory Tip'
Artist - Chicory Tip

For those not in the know, Chicory Tip are an English pop group, formed in 1967 in Maidstone, Kent.

The band originally comprised vocalist Peter Hewson, guitarist Richard "Rick" Foster, bass guitarist Barry Mayger, drummer Brian Shearer, and guitarist and keyboard player Rod Cloutt (who sadly passed away in Australia in 2017).

In truth, Chicory Tip only released a few records in the US and their name was shortened to just Chicory for the US market. Indeed, for their first two releases there, that's how it stayed until they reverted back to the full name thereafter.

The Complete Chicory Tip is a quite brilliant new 30 track 2CD round up of everything ever released by '70s Glam Rock legends Chicory Tip.

Releasing March 29th, 2019 via 7T's Records / Cherry Red Records UK, it, of course, includes the International million selling smash 'Son Of My Father'.

Written by Giorgio Moroder, the song hit #1 in the UK and also topped the charts in Argentina, Belgium and Spain as well as making the Top 10 in charts across the globe.

CD 1:
1. 'Son of My Father'
2. 'Arizona
3. 'Sweat Dust and Red Wine'
4. 'Marianne'
5. 'Pride Comes Before a Fall'
6. 'Excuse Me Baby'
7. 'Friend of Mine'
8. 'Lodi'
9. 'What She Thinks About'
10. 'I Couldn't Spend Another Day Without You'
11. 'Memory'
12. 'I Can Hear You Calling'
13. 'What's Your Name'
14. 'Monday After Sunday'
15. 'My Girl Sunday'
16. 'Doctor Man'

The first CD opens with the foot-tappin' '70s flashback, chart-toppin,' Moog synthesizer beauty 'Son Of My Father' (recorded at George Martin's Air Studios) and then backs that up wonderfully with the storytelling of the album track 'Arizona' (written by Kenny Young who went on to have hits in the bands Fox and Yellow Dog), the singalong 'Sweat Dust and Red Wine,' and both the brass-enhanced love song 'Marianne' (complete with Brandy in their tea!) and bight and breezy flow of 'Pride Comes Before a Fall' (the B-side of the band's first ever single, 'Monday After Sunday').

The ukulele-inspired 'Excuse Me Baby' (a remake of a minor UK hit for The Magic Lanterns in 1971 and which also secured the band its first appearance on the BBC TV pop music countdown show, Top of the Pops) is as much a delight to hear today as I'm sure it was back then and that's backed by both the up-down bounce cover of the Dr. Marigold hit 'Friend of Mine' and the guitar-tastic troubadour-recounting cover of John Fogerty's 'Lodi.'

'What She Thinks About' is a slight trip into psych, with the lush 'I Couldn't Spend Another Day Without You,' 'Memory' (the B-side of the upcoming 'What's Your Name'), their cover of a Three Dog Night track, 'I Can Hear You Calling,' and then the aforementioned follow up single to 'Son Of My Father,' 'What's You Name.'

The first disc rounds out with the bands very first single (released on 19th June 1970), 'Monday After Sunday,' with their second single (released on 2nd April 1971), 'My Girl Sunday' and it's B-side, 'Doctor Man' wrapping the first disc up nicely.

CD 2:
1. 'The Devil Rides Tonight'
2. 'I Love Onions'
3. 'Don't Hang Jack'
4. 'The Future Is Past'
5. 'Big Wheels Rolling'
6. 'Good Grief Christina'
7. 'Move on'
8. 'Cigarettes, Women and Wine'
9. 'I See You'
10. 'I.O.U.'
11. 'Join Our Gang'
12. 'Take Your Time Caroline'
13. 'Me and Stan Foley'
14. 'Survivor'

The second CD begins with the guitar-heavy 'The Devil Rides Tonight' (the B-side of 'Excuse Me Baby') and then brings forth the joyous, fun gravelly-vocalized fourth single, 'I Love Onions.'

It's B-side, the jangling guitar cut 'Don't Hang Jack' is next and is followed by the follow-up to 'What's Your Name,' the trademark Moog synthesizer-less 'The Future Is Past.'

Next up is the B-side to that song, 'Big Wheels Rolling' which is followed by the bands third and final hit, 'Good Grief Christina.' Yet another catchy pop cut, it's a genuine shame (to me) they didn't stick to this musical formula as their careers might have been much more successful re: chart hits and such.

Moving on, which is very apt, as the next track is the B-side to that aforementioned last song, the great blues vibe of entitled 'Move On.' Next up is the follow up to 'Good Grief Christina,' the funky guitar work of 'Cigarettes, Women and Wine,' and that's followed by its B-side, the steel guitar and cowbell funky delight 'I See You.'

Co-written by Pete Bellotte (who wrote the lyrics) and Giorgio Moroder (who wrote the music), 'I.O.U.' is next. A deliciously funky track it failed to chart. Next comes the swirling psych of 'Join Our Gang' and then the guys used the hit songwriting team of Ken Howard and Alan Blaikley (aka The Tremeloes) for 'Take Your Time Caroline' - but, sadly, it too failed.

The lead guitar and piano beauty 'Me and Stan Foley' is then followed by their very last-released single, this time on Roger Easterby's Route label. Called 'Survivor' it was written by Zack Lawrence and J Weston and as much as it wasn't a hit either, it still proved to their fans they were a valid musical entity capable of change.

The booklet contains a detailed history of the band by official web master Stuart Cameron who has interviewed guitarist Rick Foster especially for this release.

It also features rare picture sleeves from around the globe to allow collectors to update their "Wants" Lists!

2CD Purchase Link