Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

DJ Supply

Title - 'For Kenny' [2CD]
Artist - LYL (Locate Your Lips)

For those not in the know, much like myself, LYL (Locate Your Lips) were a punk/power-pop band in Milwaukee in the mid-'80s.

Built around the jazz-schooled yet rock ready drumming of Kenny Baldwin (who passed away from cancer in 2015, hence the new title of the album), the empathetic accompaniment of bassist Andy Cavaluzzi and fiery guitar playing by (ex-Shivvers guitarist) Jim Eannelli, LYL emerged from the city's punk rock scene.

With the energy of punk and the sophistication of jazz and progressive rock LYL broke ground and left audiences unable to pigeonhole them.

Furthermore, LYL also recorded an album in 1985, but sadly never released it.

Releasing next month, For Kenny now sees the light of day via a wondrous 2CD set. For Jim Eannelli himself has now produced an official release of the album which also includes some vibrant live tracks too.

Inclusive of a second disc of tracks recorded live for a radio broadcast along with some bonus tracks taken from their live performance at The Boardwalk Club, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Happy Growl Records will release the 2CD set on April 5th, 2019.

Culled together by working with tapes left from a live broadcast on WQFM and a previously unreleased album-length studio recording, it's that live show that kicks things off on the first disc.

Disc One - Recorded Live
1. 'WQFM DJ Introduction'
2. 'Stethoscope'
3. 'Alive'
4. 'It Seems Like'
5. 'Get Away'
6. 'I Can Take It'
7. 'No Reason'
8. 'I Can't Take Another Taste of This'
9. 'Got A Lot of Nice Things'
10. 'No Refuge'
11. 'This World'
12. 'Waiting For You To Run'
13. 'Dance Or Die'
14. 'Cosmopolite'

After the squeaky high .13 second intro from the resident WQFM DJ has set the scene, LYL take the stage and immediately launch into two fabulous tracks that sum their musical leaning up perfectly: the pounding early punk vibe (complete with trashing drums) of 'Stethoscope' and the pulsating 'Alive.'

The drum-led, mid-tempo roll of 'It Seems Like' is yet another stand out cut and that's backed seamlessly by the melodic power punk trio of 'Get Away,' 'I Can Take It,' and 'No Reason.'

The frenetic, early Jam-esque beauty 'I Can't Take Another Taste of This' is backed by both 'Got A Lot of Nice Things' and the yearning of 'No Refuge,' with the fabulous guitar work of 'This World' up next.

The first disc then rounds out with 'Waiting For You To Run,' the short but sweet power pop of 'Dance Or Die,' and then the all-encompassing sounds of 'Cosmopolite.'

Disc Two - In Studio
1. 'Got A Lot of Time'
2. 'Cosmopolite'
3. 'De Lon Jon'
4. 'I Can't Take Another Taste of This'
5. 'Take Off Your Clothes'
6. 'Indecision'
7. 'It's A Beautiful Day'
8. 'I Don't'
9. 'Alive'
10. 'If You Could Have Anything'
11. 'Staring Slowly' (Live Bonus Track)
12. 'This Conversation' (Live Bonus Track)
13. 'You Got No Taste' (Live Bonus Track)

The brilliant 'Got A Lot of Time' (my favorite cut on this second disc) is backed by 'Cosmopolite' and the clap-along late-'60s vibe of 'De Lon Jon.'

'I Can't Take Another Taste of This' is followed by the late night underground jazz scene vibe of 'Take Off Your Clothes,' with the perfect musical pairing of both 'Indecision' and 'It's A Beautiful Day' along next.

The searing 'I Don't' is followed by the pop breeze of 'Alive' which in turn is backed by the early-'60s emotion of 'If You Could Have Anything.'

Added as live bonus tracks on this second disc, all be they somewhat flat recordings, we first get the stand straight and bounce of 'Staring Slowly,' which is backed by the drum-led 'This Conversation,' before the disc rounds out with the two minute power surge of 'You Got No Taste.'

Amazon Digital Purchase Link