Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Next Train Home'
Artist - Reza Khan

For those not in the know, the New York City-based, Bangladesh-born Reza Khan serves as program manager for the UN, contributing to peace and conflict operations throughout Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

Indeed, it was during a recent six-week trek abroad that he wrote the twelve songs for this brand new album, Next Train Home (out April 5th, 2019 via Painted Media LLC.).

Severely dehydrated from the oppressive heat during his travels from Mali to Uganda, Khan was hospitalized after collapsing in a United Nations office.

To avoid the lengthy hospitalization prescribed by doctors, he convinced them that he would recover faster if he was ensconced in a hotel room instead.

During that five-day stay, he broke out his portable guitar and wrote the title track for this, his fifth album, 'Next Train Home.'

Indeed, he actually recorded the conceptual ideas for the entire album on his laptop using the very same folding guitar and a simple keyboard that he travels with in his backpack.

After experimenting with rock, pop, world music and soul-jazz over the course of his first four albums, Khan believes that composing the music for Next Train Home took him in a creative direction that led to his self-discovery as an artist in search of a “home.”

1. 'Drop of Faith' (featuring Nils)
2. 'Gathering' (featuring Jeff Kashiwa and Philippe Saisse)
3. 'Clear Skies'
4. 'It’s About Time' (featuring Jeff Kashiwa and Matt King)
5. 'Beyond the Trees' (featuring Andy Snitzer)
6. 'Zero Tolerance' (featuring Philippe Saisse and David Mann)
7. 'Club 368' (featuring David Mann)
8. 'Plutonik' (featuring Philippe Saisse)
9. 'The Way'
10. 'Cloud Nine' (featuring Andy Snitzer)
11. 'Under the Moon' (featuring David Mann)
12. 'Next Train Home' (featuring Mark Egan and Matt King)

The album begins with some gentle opening lite jazz chords, before 'Drop Of Faith' (the single off the album, and co-produced with the featured artist Nils) opens its musical stride.

Next up is the fun 'Gathering' which features some wonderful sax work from Jeff Kashiwa and key work from Philippe Saisse and that's backed by the more mellow flow off 'Clear Skies.'

'It’s About Time' is up next and is one of my own personal favorites here. Combining a beautiful palette of musical multi-formats, it also incorporates more horn work from Kashiwa along with dulcet piano work from Matt King.

The lush 'Beyond the Trees,' featuring Andy Snitzer on percussion is a joy to behold, and is perfectly enhanced by the captivating piano work of King.

Next up is the sterner growth of 'Zero Tolerance' (featuring Saisse on bass, David Mann on drums and some excellent sax work from Mark Egan) which in turn is followed by the atmospheric salsa vibe of 'Club 368' (featuring Gumbi Ortiz on percussion and some rather delightful, free flowing flute work from Mann).

The upbeat and highly playful 'Plutonik' (featuring Saisse on bass and Ortiz on percussion) is brilliant from start to finish as is the tranquil nature of 'The Way.'

Featuring Sergio Pereira on rhythm and Saisse once again on bass, it's one of those tracks where Khan's guitar playing really comes to the fore.

The album then rounds out with the gentle hipsway of 'Cloud Nine,' which features Snitzer on horns, the joyous melodies found within 'Under the Moon' (featuring Mann), and then the last song is the playful, sunny-skied title track itself 'Next Train Home' (featuring Egan and King).

Amazon Digital Download Purchase Link

Reza Khan @ Facebook!