Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'True North'
Artist - Lawson Rollins

For those not in the know, few artists inhabit their music as seamlessly as multiple award-winning, Billboard Top 10 ranked guitarist and composer Lawson Rollins.

He plays his instrument with a soulful intensity that combines the stimulating rhythmic drive of rumba, salsa, and samba with graceful melodic finesse and free-flowing improvisational flair.

Over the past 20 years, Lawson’s albums have landed in the Billboard Top 10 World Music Chart and spawned several Billboard Top 30 contemporary jazz hits, winning him an ever growing fan base attracted by his melodic, exhilarating solos and exotic, cross-genre instrumentation performed by internationally renowned musicians.

On his upcoming new album True North (due out January 17th, 2020 via Infinita Records), Lawson offers 12 new original compositions that showcase the guitarist at the peak of his compositional skills with his aforementioned melodic and improvisational flair on full display.

1. 'True North'
2. 'With The Wind'
3. 'Perpetual Motion'
4. 'Bluewave Bossanova'
5. 'South Beach'
6. 'Full Sail'
7. 'Dead Ahead'
8. 'Yearning To Know'
9. 'Year Abroad'
10. 'Nostalgia'
11. 'In The Shadows'
12. 'The Winding Road'

Playing like he has a smile permanently adorning his face, the opening title track is a wondrously free-flowing work of music enjoyment and is backed seamlessly by both the electronic infused intensity of 'With the Wind' and then the exuberant vibe of 'Perpetual Motion.'

The heartrending bossa nova sway of 'Bluewave Bossanova' is a magical work to behold and is followed by the atmospheric 'South Beach,' and then the airy hipsway of 'Full Sail.'

Much like 'With The Wind,' 'Dead Ahead' is one of those tracks that showcase a playing style that is unlike anything Lawson has ever done. With new textures augmenting the familiar sound of his main instrument, the acoustic nylon string guitar, there's a more intense focus on melodic expression on this new album.

The achingly divine 'Yearning To Know' is one of my own personal favorites and is backed by the Latin beauty 'Year Abroad,' with the playful 'Nostalgia' along next.

On an album that spans the range of emotions and moods that have come to characterize the expansive and unexpected musical journey Lawson has offered fans throughout his career, both the hauntingly subtle ambiance of 'In The Shadows,' and the sprightful bounce and flow of 'The Winding Road' bring the album to the most perfect of closes.

On True North, Lawson is most definitely back to doing what he is most known and admired for: staying true to the direction of his artistic inner compass and delivering the kind of inimitable guitar playing, creative instrumentation, and memorable compositions his fans have come to love.

Band: Lawson Rollins (nylon string guitar, slide guitar, electric guitar, keyboards, drum programming), Davo Bryant (percussion), Dan Feiszli (bass), Mads Tolling (violin), and Stephen Duros (additional keyboards and electric guitar on ‘With the Wind’).

Amazon CD Purchase Link