Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Exclusive Magazine Banner

Title - 'Downes Braide Association: Live In England'
Artist - Downes Braide Association

For those not in the know, Downes Braide Association [DBA] is the musical collaboration between the legendary Geoff Downes (Buggles, ASIA and YES) and Chris Braide who joined forces as the result of their close friendship and passion for music.

DBA is a labor of love for both Downes and Braide and together they form a unique combination, having already produced three critically acclaimed albums; with Skyscraper Souls being their most ambitious yet.

Live in England (released December 6th, 2019 via Cherry Red Records UK) is the duo’s fourth release and first live album.

Recorded at their first ever concert at the UK’s Trading Boundaries on September 28th, 2018, it features brand new Roger Dean artwork that is not only highly evocative of the bands music, but simply magnificent to behold.

CD 1:
1. 'Skyscraper Souls'
2. 'Machinery of Fate'
3. 'Live Twice'
4. 'Vanity'
5. 'Suburban Ghosts'
6. 'Bolero / Video Killed the Radio Star'
7. 'Glacier Girl'
8. 'Angel on Your Shoulder'

CD 2:
1. 'Tomorrow'
2. 'Lighthouse'
3. 'Skin Deep'
4. 'Darker Times'
5. 'Finale'
6. 'Heat of the Moment'
7. 'The Smile Has Left Your Eyes'
8. 'Dreaming of England'

1. 'Skyscraper Souls'
2. 'Machinery of Fate'
3. 'Live Twice'
4. 'Vanity'
5. 'Suburban Ghosts'
6. 'Bolero / Video Killed the Radio Star'
7. 'Glacier Girl'
8. 'Angel on Your Shoulder'
9. 'Tomorrow'
10. 'Lighthouse'
11. 'Skin Deep'
12. 'Darker Times'
13. 'Finale'
14. 'Heat of the Moment'
15. 'The Smile Has Left Your Eyes'
16. 'Dreaming of England'

Simply put, if you are a fan of well-crafted prog pop rock with its core still firmly based in the wondrous '80s, DBA (let alone this album) are for you, trust me.

Here on the magnificent live capsule of DBA, the band take on a heavy load of work from their current-at-the-time album whilst adding in along the way a few snippets from the brilliant Suburban Ghosts.

Personally, I would have loved to have heard more from their 2012 debut Pictures Of You - such as ‘The Radiant Children’ or even the title track - but that was not the set they were offering us.

Regardless, throughout this expansive and very colorful show the duo are synched at every turn, ably aided by Andy Hodge (bass) and Dave Colquhoun (guitar).

Big Big Train’s David Longdon provides additional vocals and flute (especially on ‘Tomorrow’) although a female vocal on ‘Skyscraper Souls’ goes un-credited. Also on backing track, Barney Ashton-Bullock adds a bit of thespian drama with narration.

As for my own personal highlight, it's when Braide and company leave the stage to Downes and for the next seven minutes, he brings us the beautifully crafted, lush and sweepingly ornate 'Bolero / Video Killed the Radio Star.'

Listen to 'Bolero / Video Killed the Radio Star' (Live) Here!

Reflecting on the performance, Yes keyboardist Downes says, "It was a most memorable evening last September at the iconic Trading Boundaries venue and we believe we have managed to capture the magic of the whole night."

"As well as songs from our albums we have added some extra special treats and we hope it gives a rare insight into the special songwriting and production relationship Chris and I have developed over the last decade on the journey that is DBA."

"We sincerely hope you enjoy the music with us, from this very special occasion, in a raw and live setting, and we thank you for all your support."

Braide adds, "After many requests for DBA to perform live, Geoff and myself, along with the excellent musicianship of Andy Hodge, Dave Colquhoun, David Longdon, Barney Ashton Bullock, finally took to the stage for the first time at the stunning Trading Boundaries."

"It was a wonderful evening surrounded by friends and the beautiful English countryside and this live album is a great document of that magical evening and encapsulates what DBA is all about.”

Amazon 2CD+DVD Purchase Link