Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Republica (Deluxe 3CD Edition)'
Artist - Republica

For those not in the know, Republica were signed in 1993 by the Heads of the legendary independent De-Construction label, Pete Hadfield and Keith Blackhurst (who Saffron had previously worked with in her 1st band NJoi – also signed to the label).

They broke through with enormous Stateside success after being signed by Head A+R Man Dave Novik at R.C.A Records America who believed they had enormous potential and built a strong working relationship with the band (and a lasting friendship to this day).

He introduced them to Producer Ben Grosse who they clicked with immediately, mixing a few tracks and collaborating on additional production.

The band had the full support and backing of the CEOs and Heads of R.C.A Records (Bob Jameson and Jack Rovenor) who all loved the band’s album and believed Saffron to be a superstar – a unique, stunningly beautiful strong female artist with an individual style and a mesmerizing stage performer, immediately captivating audiences, press, radio and TV.

Her band’s exciting and explosive live shows made them a ‘Priority Band‘ with Head of International B.M.G. Records Worldwide Rudi Gastner – a huge fan of the band who also became a close friend. Within weeks Republica were headlining shows across America building a huge fan following. Matt Pinfield at MTV playlisted the video to ‘Ready To Go’ on heavy rotation and their last tour was a 65 city date sell out tour. The latest title on Cherry Red's dedicated '90s imprint 90/9 is a triple-disc Deluxe Edition of the 1996 debut set from these very same trailblazing technopop punk rockers Republica.

The multi platinum-certified, multi million-selling, self-titled album Republica, features the Top 5 (#3) smash in the UK Album Charts, 'Ready To Go' along with ‘Drop Dead Gorgeous’ (Mexico #1, UK #7, US #93, Top 10 in many other countries worldwide), alongside the equally assertive dance floor favorites 'Bloke,' 'Bitch' and 'Holly'

Across three CDs, this Deluxe Edition contains no less than 32 bonus tracks, including Republica’s sought-after debut single, ‘Out of This World’, which was reworked as the album track ‘Out of the Darkness’.

Indeed, the legendary DJ John Peel was the first radio DJ to play the band’s debut track on his infamous Radio 1 show and an early supporter of the band.

Also featured are absolutely all the full-length mixes issued commercially or promotionally for the singles. Sought-after contributions come courtesy of Republica’s labelmates Way Out West and Justin Robertson, London clubland legends Fabio Paras and Drum Club, San Francisco electronica pioneers Hardkiss and many more; not to mention a quintessential early credit from Chemical Brothers.

When house and rave were just beginning to make their presence felt in dance-pop, along came Republica. Battling for their sound to be heard and recognized amid the mid-'90s, when jungle, drum'n'bass, ambient, and all other forms of techno were finally edging their way into the mainstream, it was very clear to all listening that Republica were attempting to work in that genre.

But as their eponymous debut indicated, they had no interest in hardcore techno for they just wanted to dance. Working with strong, accessible Hi-NRG beats and catchy choruses, the trio had/has a bright, energetic sound that is rather infectious when tied with the right melodies; such as on the hit singles 'Ready to Go' and 'Drop Dead Gorgeous.'

In truth, if they had more than one sound, Republica would be even more entertaining, but as it stands, the record is a stretch of pleasantly numbing dance-pop punctuated by two terrific singles.

That said, and for my money, this self-titled album comes so very close to recreating the punk movement of the early '80s that it sends shivers down my spine. Every track, no matter if it received airplay or not, is chock full of energy and innovative melodies.

With their original style of music and the brilliant female lead singer Saffron - who steals the show vocally, with each and every breath - ensures that the debut studio album of tracks are both unique and created for a no nonsense delivery from their charismatic Saffron.

Furthermore, and much like Simple Minds without the magic of Jim Kerr - stage presence and vocal wise - Republica without Saffron would be, well, unthinkable.

Disc 1:
1. 'Ready To Go'
2. 'Bloke'
3. 'Bitch'
4. 'Get Off'
5. 'Picture Me'
6. 'Drop Dead Gorgeous'
7. 'Out Of The Drakness'
8. 'Wrapp'
9. 'Don't You Ever'
10. 'Holly'
11. 'Mutha' (Bonus Track)
12. 'Introlude' (Bonus Track)
13. 'Ready To Go' (Original Mix) (Bonus Track)
14. 'Drop Dead Gorgeous' (Original Mix) (Bonus Track)
15. 'Bloke' (Radio Mix) (Bonus Track)
16. 'Bitch' (Radio Mix) (Bonus Track)
17. 'Holly' (Radio Mix) (Bonus Track)
18. 'Out Of This World' (Republica Mix) (Bonus Track)

Disc 2:
1. 'Out Of This World' (Original Mix)
2. 'Bloke' (Extended Mix)
3. 'Holly' (Full Mix)
4. 'Ready To Go' (Original Extended Mix)
5. 'Drop Dead Gorgeous' (Pop Fiction Mix)
6. 'Bloke' (Blame It On The Vodka Mix)
7. 'Ready To Go' (Smash's Disco Mix)
8. 'Out Of This World' (Alternative Mix)
9. 'Bloke' (Jack Daniels Mix)
10. 'Holly' (Republica Mix)
11. 'Drop Dead Gorgeous' (Riprock's Runway Mix)
12. 'Out Of This World' (Proper Night Out Mix)

Disc 3:
1. 'Out Of This World' (Chemical Brothers Mix)
2. 'Bloke' (Blakkat Remix)
3. 'Ready To Go' (Smash's Club Extended Mix)
4. 'Drop Dead Gorgeous' (Riprock's One Way Dub)
5. 'Out Of This World' (Rub-A-Dub-Sub Mix)
6. 'Ready T Go' (Dramaboy's Babyyan Mix)
7. 'Holly' (Fabio Paras Mix)
8. 'Bitch' (Way Out West Mix)
9. 'Out Of This World' (Prankster Bends The Frequency Mix)
10. 'Bloke' (Blakkat Instrumental Mix)
11. 'Ready To Go' (Gavin & Scott Hardkiss' Remixica)
12. 'Out Of This World' (Chemical Brothers Dub)

As a listening experience over two decades later, this is a riotous roller-coaster ride through cutting-edge '90s remix culture.

Packaged in a 3CD capacity wallet, this release also boasts a 20-page booklet with exclusive new sleeve notes written by Saffron herself, an illustrated discography, additional photos and lyrics.

Official 3CD Purchase Link

Republica @ Facebook