Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

6 Degrees Entertainment

Title - 'Born Innocent'
Artist - Alcatrazz

For those not in the know, the hard-hitting, melodic heavy metal band Alcatrazz will once again throw down a studio gauntlet on July 31st, 2020 with the absolutely pulsating Born Innocent (via Silver Lining Music).

Their first studio venture since 1986’s Dangerous Game, alongside the unique vocal prowess and range of star front man and founding member Graham Bonnet (Rainbow), Born Innocent also features fellow founding members Jimmy Waldo and Gary Shea.

Complete with classic album art that features the mighty rock itself, Born Innocent is a journey into the sort of heavy, melodic and supremely articulated hard rock that is a cornerstone of the likes of Rainbow and the Michael Schenker Group; territory Alcatrazz successfully strode in the ‘80s before going on hiatus.

Born Innocent also features guest appearances from Chris Impellitteri, who wrote the music and played all guitars on the arpeggio-powered title track, with Bonnet’s vocals soaring to old-school heights, as did the late Bob Kulick for the majestic 'I Am The King.'

Virtuoso Japanese guitar maestro Nozomu Wakai similarly wrote and played guitars on the double-kick steel-plated Irish warrior ode 'Finn McCool,' while the six-string legend that is Steve Vai wrote 'Dirty Like The City.'

Besides the supreme musicianship, Born Innocent features genuine storyteller lyrics courtesy of Bonnet who revels in showing he loves the scent of an entertaining tale, proudly illustrated on the storming lead single 'Polar Bear' which bristles with robust old-world adventure.

Though Alcatrazz might well have been "born innocent," their new album shows they’ve obviously learnt some robust and rawkus things along the way!

1. 'Born Innocent'
2. 'Polar Bear'
3. 'Finn McCool'
4. 'We Still Remember'
5. 'London 1666'
6. 'Dirty Like The City'
7. 'I Am The King'
8. 'Something That I Am Missing'
9. 'Paper Flags'
10. 'The Wound Is Open'
11. 'Body Beautiful'
12. 'Warth Lane'
13. 'For Tony'

Opening with the squealing guitars and frenetic drum back beat of the title track 'Born Innocent,' that's backed seamlessly by the head down, hair toss guitar rock of 'Polar Bear,' the thunderously melodic 'Finn McCool,' and then both the mid-tempo keyboard and guitar amalgamation ballad 'We Still Remember' and the powerhaus rocker 'London 1666.'

Their brand of roaring rock continues onward with the full on 'Dirty Like The City,' a track that truly encapsulates how good Bonnet's vocals still are, which is followed by the balls out frenzy of 'I Am The King' and then the cacophonous, black metal-esque 'Something That I Am Missing.'

The more upbeat, chest puffed out, head held high rocker 'Paper Flags' is next, and is backed by one of my own personal favorites, the unadulterated metal rock of 'The Wound Is Open.'

At times veering into Tygers of Pan Tang-esque work, the drum-led 'Body Beautiful' is up next and is followed by the stunning, ethereal at times, guitar work of 'Warth Lane,' with the album coming to a close on the black sheep of the album, the brass percussion and raw Bonnet vocalization of 'For Tony.'

Amazon Purchase Links

Silver Lining Music Website