Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  Jeffrey Reddick (Director - Dont Look Back)
  Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
  Eddie Izzard (Six Minutes to Midnight)
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Title - 'Cross That Line: Expanded Deluxe Edition'
Artist - Howard Jones

Cherry Red Records have just released a newly remastered and expanded edition of Howard Jones' fourth album, Cross That Line.

Released in March 1989, the album was produced by Jones with Ian Stanley, Chris Hughes, and Ross Cullum – all of whom had worked with Tears For Fears earlier in the 1980s.

The album reached #64 in the UK album charts and #65 in the US album charts. It featured two singles, ‘The Prisoner’ and ‘Everlasting Love’ and both singles were top 30 hits in the US and minor hits in the UK.

In addition to these two singles the track 'Powerhouse' was remixed by Danny D (producer behind the acid house artist D-Mob) and released to clubs.

Packaged in a digipack with a fully illustrated 16-page booklet containing a brand new sleeve note and track by track annotation about Cross That Line by Howard Jones as told to acclaimed writer Anil Prasad.

Featuring an expanded selection of previously unreleased studio versions and remixes plus newly remastered tracks, it also includes a DVD (NTSC/Region Free) containing a brand new interview with Howard Jones from May 2020 discussing Creating the Cross That Line album, a Track By Track Commentary as well as Promotional Videos.

Disc One:
1. 'The Prisoner'
2. 'Everlasting Love'
3. 'Powerhouse'
4. 'Last Supper'
5. 'Cross That Line'
6. 'Out Of Thin Air'
7. 'Guardians Of The Breath'
8. 'Fresh Air Waltz'
9. 'Wanders To You'
10. 'Those Who Move Clouds'
11. 'Modern Man'
12. 'The Brutality of Fact'
13. 'Power of The Media'
14. 'Powerhouse' (Danny D 12" Edit)

Howard Jones’ fourth album shifts from the lighter sound of his previous One to One, back to that of his first two releases, Human's Lib and Dream Into Action, although the lyrics remain of a mainly romantic nature, and he also incorporates occasional moments of strong, crunching guitars.

Not everything can stand the test of time in life, but Jones' 'Everlasting Love' certainly does! This song has a great beat and makes you want to stop what you're doing and start dancing. Take it for a test drive and don't forget your dancing shoes!

So, the opening half (as it was originally a vinyl LP, of course) is where the music is at its best, with 'The Prisoner', the aforementioned 'Everlasting Love', the fairly dynamic 'Powerhouse' (showing his first attempt at a really dance/funk-orientated number), and the ballad 'Last Supper' approaching his best work; although the latter does show up Jones' vocal limitations, while 'Out of Thin Air' is a beautiful piano solo.

After that track, and into the second half, things get a bit moody, to be honest, as 'Guardians of the Breath' and 'Those Who Move Clouds' are haunting pieces which, especially on the latter, bring in a variety of instruments which produce a cacophony of sound.

Whilst the similar-sounding duo 'Cross That Line' and 'Wanders to You', with their brass groove hooks, are not terribly inspiring and even after all these years, I'm still not sure what to make of them both.

Overall, Cross That Line has much to recommend it and yet sadly, Jones’ popularity was fading at the time of its release. Making way for such incredibly and legendary talented performers as New Kids on the Block, Rick Astley, Debbie Gibson, and Tiffany, Jones has at least continued to release albums on occasion, of which they are ALL well worth seeking out.

Disc Two:
1. 'The Prisoner' (Alternative 7" Mix)*
2. 'Everlasting Love' (Julian Mendelsohn Mix)*
3. 'Modern Man' (Early Mix)*
4. 'Powerhouse' (7"Instrumental Mix)*
5. 'Fresh Air Waltz' (Early Mix)*
6. 'The Prisoner' (The Portmeirion Mix)
7. 'Rubber Morals'
8. 'Have Your Heard The News?'
9. 'Powerhouse' (Danny D 7" Edit)
10. 'The Prisoner' (US 7" Edit)**
11. 'Everlasting Love' (Original Mix - AKA The Institute Mix)**
12. 'Cross That Line' (Early Mix)*
13. 'Powerhouse' (Early Mix)*
14. 'The Prisoner' (AC Edit)*
15. 'Powerhouse' (Danny D Acid Mix Edit Version 1)*

Disc Three:
1. 'Everlasting Love' (Instrumental Mix)*
2. 'The Prisoner' (Battery Studio Mix 1)*
3. 'Powerhouse' (7" Alternative Mix)*
4. 'Everlasting Love (Julian Mendelsohn TV Mix)*
5. 'The Prisoner' (Original Album Mix)*
6. 'Cross That Line' (Marquee Rehearsal, 18th June 1988)*
7. 'Powerhouse' (Marquee Rehearsal, 18th June 1988)*
8. 'Rubber Morals' (TV Mix)*
9. 'Everlasting Love' (Alternative Institute Mix)*
10. 'The Prisoner' (Instrumental Mix)*
11. 'Powerhouse' (TV Instrumental Mix)**
12. 'Everlasting Love' (808 Mix)
13. 'Powerhouse' (Danny D Acid Mix Edit Version 2)*
14. 'Everlasting Love' (Peter Collins Master Mix)*
15. 'Powerhouse' (Alternative Album Mix - AKA Danny D Delay Mix)*

Disc Four: DVD
1. Interview with Howard Jones, May 2020:
Creating Cross That Line
Track By Track Commentary
2. 'Everlasting Live' (Promo Video)
3. 'The Prisoner' (Promo Video)
4. 'Everlasting Love' (Alternative Version) (Promo Video)

This prestigious album is being re-issued in two formats, the Deluxe Expanded Edition reviewed here today and a beautiful Limited Edition Silver vinyl with inner bag.