Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Angelina Jolie (Those Who Wish Me Dead)
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  David Chase (Creator, ‘The Many Saints of Newark’)
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  NEW! Chez Kane
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley (2021)
  NEW! Doogie White (2021)
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

'Journey - Live In Manila' [DVD+2CD]
(Journey / DVD+2CD / NR / 2016 / Eagle Vision)

Overview: Originally released on DVD in 2009, 'Live In Manila' is now being reissued in North America as a DVD+2CD, Blu-ray+2CD, and digital formats, and is the first time the audio has been available anywhere in the world.

DVD Verdict: Filmed in 4K resolution utilizing RED technology to deliver extraordinary quality, this release captures Journey's concert at the SM Mall Of Asia in Manila, Philippines on March 14th, 2009. Indeed, it marked the homecoming of the band's then-newly arrived singer and front man Arnel Pineda.

As for Journey, as a whole, if you were not aware, they are an American rock band that formed in San Francisco in 1973. The band has gone through several phases; its strongest commercial success occurred between 1978 and 1987, and during that period released a series of hit songs, including "Don't Stop Believin'" (1981), which in 2009 became the top-selling track in iTunes history among songs not released in the 21st century.

Indeed, its parent studio album, Escape, the band's eighth and most successful, reached No. 1 on the Billboard 200 and yielded another of their most popular singles, "Open Arms". Its 1983 follow-up album, Frontiers, was almost as successful in the United States, reaching No. 2 and spawning several successful singles; it broadened the band's appeal in the United Kingdom, where it reached No. 6 on the UK Albums Chart.

Journey enjoyed a successful reunion in the mid-1990s and later regrouped with a series of lead singers. And coming full circle, and the less said about temp singer Jeff Scott Soto, who replaced Steve Augeri (who himself replaced original lead singer Steve Perry in 1998) the better, trust me! Man, that was a horrible summer, but when the guys searched YouTube and found Filipino singer Arnel Pineda (then of the cover band The Zoo), well, they struck musical vocal Journey gold.

Although these days he doesn't look like his did in this 2009 live video (now he has short, greying hair, and not so much on the chin either), Pineda rocks the Journey songs to their core here brilliantly. Spread over 2 audio CDs (never before released like this before) and one immensely long DVD, 'Live In Manila' includes all the classics: "Don't Stop Believin'", "Be Good To Yourself", "Stone In Love", "Open Arms", "Faithfully", "Still They Ride", "When You Love A Woman", "Any Way You Want It", "Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'" and SO much more!

CD 1:
01. "Intro Medley: "The Journey (Revelation)/ Majestic"
02. "Never Walk Away"
03. "Only The Young"
04. "Ask The Lonely"
05. "Stone In Love"
06. "Keep On Runnin'"
07. "After All These Years"
08. "Change For The Better"
09. "Wheel In The Sky"
10. "Lights"
11. "Still They Ride"
12. "Open Arms"
13. "Mother, Father"
14. "Wildest Dream"
15. "When You Love A Woman"

CD 2:
16. "Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)"
17. "What I Needed"
18. "Edge Of The Blade"
19. "Where Did I Lose Your Love"
20. "Escape"
21. "Faithfully"
22. "Don't Stop Believin'"
23. "Any Way You Want It"
24. "Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'"
25. "Turn Down The World Tonight"
26. "Be Good To Yourself"
27. Credits: "The Journey (Revelation)"

As evidenced, here in Manila Journey - Arnel Pineda (lead vocals); Neal Schon (lead guitar, vocals); Jonathan Cain (keyboards, rhythm guitar, vocals); Ross Valory (bass, vocals); Deen Castronovo (drums, percussion, vocals) - delivers an inspired performance in front of an adoring crowd as they played a set of greatest hits interspersed with tracks from their new-at-the-time 2008 album Revelation.

All of Journey's fans will love this as the show features some rather deep album cuts and fan favorites also, like "Edge of the Blade" and "Mother Father". We just don't get to hear those tracks as much as we, the diehard fans would like when it comes to live shows, so it was very special to see them be performed in this show, trust me. In closing, for any fan that can look past Journey continuing to find the same sounding voice - as yes, we've all heard the moans and groans - this is a wonderful concert and stellar introduction to/for Pineda live.