Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  The Home of WAXEN WARES Candles!
  Check Out Anne Carlini Productions Now!!
  NEW! Crystal Gayle
  MTU Hypnosis
  NEW! Ellen Foley
  Sony Legacy Record Store Day [April 2023]
  Gotham Knights [David Russo - Composer]
  Michigan Siding Company for ALL Your Outdoor Needs

Ghost Canyon

Win 'The Ike and Tina Turner Story: 1960-1975'!


The Ike and Tina Turner Story: 1960-1975 Includes 49 Songs Recorded By The Dynamic and Influential Couple

Box Set In Stores October 2nd

True musical visionaries whose revolutionary sounds were matched only by their phenomenal live performances, Ike and Tina Turner's partnership remains one of the most significant and influential in pop music history. Finally, the Turners' prolific and dynamic fifteen year partnership is captured in The Ike and Tina Turner Story: 1960-1975, in stores October 2nd (via Time Life).

Their first-ever complete career retrospective, it culls 49 songs from every significant label affiliation in the Turners' career. The box set highlights Ike's genius as a musician, songwriter, producer and guiding force in the evolution of African American music from juke joint blues to R&B and then to soul and funk while Tina's unparalleled vocals and explosive performances are evident throughout the set.

The Ike and Tina Turner Story features classic Ike & Tina Turner songs including their very first bona-fide hit "A Fool in Love," a concoction of soul and raw vulnerability that shook the music world when it was released in 1960. The 3-CD box set also includes top hits and fan favorites "Proud Mary," "Nutbush City Limits," "I've Been Loving You Too Long," "Come Together, "Honky Tonk Woman," "It's Gonna Work Out Fine," The Ikettes smash hit "I'm Blue (Gong Gong Song)" and a special live performance of "River Deep, Mountain High." And since nothing could match the electricity of their live performances, the third disc in the collection comes with the entire 1969 live album "Live.....In Person" (never available before on CD), which includes songs like "Respect" and "Son of A Preacher Man."

During their musical reign, Ike and Tina dominated the R&B and pop charts. Ike is credited with being the brilliant architect that crafted their concerts' frenetic pace, feverish dance routines, impeccable musicianship and vigorous interplay between the band members and the singers. Even more appealing were their songs, which transcended all genres (particularly soul and rock), including classic interpretations of The Beatles' "Come Together" and Creedence Clearwater Revival's "Proud Mary," which became Ike and Tina's biggest hit. T. Rex's Marc Bolan even played an uncredited guitar on "Sexy Ida" and on another of their biggest hits, "Nutbush City Limits." Their crossover success became official when The Rolling Stones brought Ike & Tina onto their 1969 US tour. After stealing the show with their riveting performances, the duo received invitations from traditional rock n'roll venues like the Fillmore and the L.A. Forum - new showcases for their non-stop touring.

Their well-chronicled relationship, both personal and professional, was tumultuous at best and ended in 1976. Since their dramatic split, Ike has committed to sobriety and continues to be recognized for his impact on the evolution of African American music. He won a Grammy Award in 2006 for Best Traditional Blues Album and on June 18, won Mojo magazine's 2007 Legend Award, honoring his place in rock n' roll history. Tina Turner went on to eventually become one of the most successful female pop artists of all time, selling more concert tickets than any other solo performer in history and releasing a string of multi-platinum solo albums.

The Ike & Tina Turner Story: 1960-1975 reflects Time Life's ongoing commitment to bringing top quality American music to life. In just the past year, the company has launched the Legends of American Music series, featuring other critically acclaimed box sets on Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Louis Armstrong and The Stanley Brothers. This box set is part of Time Life's retail division campaign to redefine its role in the marketplace.

So, if you would like to win one of these new CD box-sets and you think you know all there is to know about Tina Turner, just answer this easy question: Tina Turner and the Revue's backup singers, wove intricate and electrifying dance routines into their performances and influenced many other artists including Mick Jagger. But what was the name (group wise) of the Revue's backup singers?!

Send us your answers and if you're correct you'll be in the running to win one of these wonderful new CD box-sets! Just send us an e:mail here before November 1st with your answer and the subject title CONTEST: IKE AND TINA TURNER CDs to:

CD Purchase Link

1. A Fool in Love
2. I Idolize You
3. I'm Jealous
4. It's Gonna Work Out Fine
5. Poor Fool
6. Don't Play Me Cheap
7. Tra La La La La
8. You Should'a Treated Me Right
9. Good Good Lovin'
10. Stagger Lee and Billy
11. Two is a Couple
12. I'm Blue (The Gong-Gong Song)
13. I Can't Believe What You Say
14. A Fool For a Fool
15. Something's Got a Hold on Me (Live)
16. Tell Her I'm Not Home
17. Finger Poppin'
18. I'm Gonna Do All I Can
19. River Deep Mountain High

1. The Hunter
2. I've Been Loving You Too Long
3. Bold Soul Sister
4. Come Together
5. Honky Tonk Woman
6. I Want To Take You Higher
7. Workin' Together
8. Proud Mary
9. Get Back
10. Ooh Poo Pah Doo
11. I'm Yours (Use Me Any Way You Wanna)
12. Up In Heah
13. Feel Good
14. Early One Morning
15. Nutbush City Limits
16. Sexy Ida, Part 1
17. Sweet Rhode Island Red
18. Baby - Get It On
19. Acid Queen

1. Intro
2. Everyday People
3. Gimme Some Lovin'/Sweet Soul Music
4. Son of a Preacher Man
5. I Heard it Through the Grapevine
6. Respect
7. Medley: There Was a Time/African Boo's
8. Funky Street
9. A Fool in Love
10. Medley: The Summit/All I Can Do Is Cry/Please Please Please/Baby I Love You
11. Goodbye So Long